The Pleasures Of A Sunday Afternoon

Today was a late start but that’s ok yesterday ’cause yesterday started early – twice!!

What happened yesterday was a police helicopter has over head at 5.3 am – I was somewhat unsavoury about it on Facebook.  Anyway then it was out and about for the craft morning over in Portmarnock.

Back to today – a late start but it with a rasher sandwich it really was a great start.  Sometimes what happens is we’d get stuff for a weekend breakfast and remember it 3 or 4 days later – doh!  But this morning I remembered the rashers – nice and crispy -yum!

Afterwards we wandered over to Ikea – picked up one or two things we never knew we needed – very happy with the mulled punch.  We’ve decided we need to go over sometime closer to Christmas and just spend.  Unfortunately that’s not a problem for us – we’d spend a fortune there and that’s just of the food!

Speaking of food – we were a bit peckish by the time we finished wandering around the place and himself was hinting at food – however the queues were massive!  so we went to The Brock Inn – I had the pan fried chicken with herb crust, mash, carrots & cabbage, for dessert I was going to have the Bread & Butter with custard but they’d sold out so it was fresh fruit pavlova – it was simply to die for!

So now we are home – home again home again jiggety jig!  Himself has gone to bed for a snooze and a digest – and I can’t say I blame him!  Me?  I’m stretched out on the sofa, fairy lights, lamp & electric fire are glowing and The Children Of Green Knowe is on the box (it’s a DVD)  It really is lovely in the background I’ve got some ylang ylang burning on the aromastone.

I remember watching Green Knowe when I was younger – 11 to be precise and still in primary school.  It was on Childrens BBC and it was one of those programmes that has a profound effect on you (- well me) I can’t exactly put my finger on it – possibly the ghosts & christmas – I really did like all of that stuff when I was 11.

Anyway I must go as I’m missing my programme – after my lie down there will be a bit more crochet done – I really need to finish this afghan before Christmas – snowflakes on a navy background would be of no use in the summer!

Toodle pip!

Leave a Reply

