Posted in Diet, Food, Home

It must be January

Well after the gluttonous feast that was Christmas & New Years the TV schedulers have decided that we all need to lose weight.  It seems that nearly every channel has a weight loss series 😦

I’ve done the dieting and I’ve gotten to goal (twice) however some how something has always happened that has thrown a spanner in the works.  So although I know I can do it – I’m just not in the right mind set for the relentless weight loss march that is involved with these commercial diets – although they are in a way re-educating our eating habits there is the constant demand for weight loss – even as they say if it’s only half a pound.

The way I see it there are three speeds for weight loss – the instant/dramatic results = gastric band etc, then there’s the constant visible results =  Weight Watchers / Lighter Life/ Unislim, after that there’s simply the slow slow way.  The slow slow way is usually not used ’cause in this world of instant gratification we tend to lose heart and become discouraged when we don’t see instant results or should that be visible results.

The other day I read an interview with Ruth Jones in The Guardian where it mentions that she lost 4.5st in 22 months/ 2 years – and you know, it’s like the blinkers fell away – I know I can do it – sure didn’t I do it before?  But why the rush?  Who am I racing?  I think a slow slow weight drop is the way for me ’cause I don’t want to have a bout of the munchies one evening and then spending the rest of the week feeling dreadful ’cause of it.

A note for the beginning of 2012 is 14st .5lbs

My motto for the coming year will occasionally (if I know me) will be:

Breakfast like a King, Lunch like a Prince & Dine like a Pauper.

Author:

As I type I'm 40 odd yrs. Sometimes very odd :) I'm married and have 2 cats - Oscar & Daisy. I love to cook, craft, read & watch TV This is to be the place that makes me smile.

Leave a Reply

