Posted in Books, Poetry, Reading

A Few New Books

After a week of ferrying himself in and out of hospital I will be back in work for a full day on Thursday – I never thought I’d say this but I can’t wait!  In honour of this strange notion I am going to treat myself to a few books 🙂

A while ago I watched Victoria Wood as Nella Last afterwards I got my hands on:
Nella Last’s War: The Second World War Diaries of ‘Housewife, 49’ and I adored it – the triumph on the shy!

So last week I ordered the other 2 books – I think they complete her diaries – I suppose I’ll know when I read them…

Nella Last’s Peace: The Post-War Diaries Of Housewife 49 & Nella Last in the 1950s: Further diaries of Housewife, 49

                              

I’ve often wondered what happened to Nella so I’m eager to find out.

Also co-inciding with a post I made over on mswalsh, I recently came across a few John Betjeman books on the shelves in Chapters Books shop – of course now I’ve forgotten which ones now that I’ve decided to mention them!!  I am so embarrassed but not enough to not mention it at all  *^_^*

So here are a few of the ones I’m determined to get my hands on:

a

    

If nothing else aren’t those covers just the loveliest?  I already have the John Betjeman book Trains And Buttered Toast – although again if you paid me I don’t know where I’m after putting it – I suspect it’s in the bedroom and not the library.

So there you have my shopping list for this week
(I will let you know how I get on)

Author:

As I type I'm 40 odd yrs. Sometimes very odd :) I'm married and have 2 cats - Oscar & Daisy. I love to cook, craft, read & watch TV This is to be the place that makes me smile.

Leave a Reply

