The Drought Is Over

No I’m not talking about the weather ’cause here in Dublin the weather is showers in between the rain!

No, what I’m talking about is my reading!  I tend to average about a book a month – but not this year.  This year I’ve hardly lifted a book – when I did I’d get a few pages in and no further and every time I went back to it I couldn’t muster the concentration to either find the page I was on or to move any further on.

However, in the past month I’ve managed to finish a book I started earlier in the year and two more books!  I am hesitant to say that the spell has been broken but am plodding along.  I have to say I’m loving both the stories and the fact that I’m reading again – woohoo!

One of my start ups but finished at last:

I’d had this book on the shelf for a while and then all of a sudden it was on the telly!  I enjoyed the adaptation and this prompted me to add it to my list of must reads.  I eventually started it at the beginning of the year but only finished it earlier this month.

I was happy that the book differed from the television programme to a degree that it was still a fresh read.  I have the other Jackson Brodie books just waiting to be read but I have a different detective to keep me busy for now (see below)

This was given to me on my birthday but I planned to keep hold of it for a bit and read it on holidays 10 days later – however when I finished Case Histories I couldn’t resist starting it – given how bad I had been at reading for the past few months what harm could it do? Well I was hooked and couldn’t put it down.  This tells you that I enjoyed it – however a friend of mine was a bit disappointed in it and found the magic a little forced.  If I’m being honest I didn’t really notice any in the book or at least I can’t recall it.  However I didn’t miss it – is this a good or bad thing?  Given that the two previous books were magic heavy I found that there was enough there not to need it.  I will say though that the last page did leave me a little confused but that’s just me.


At the beginning of the year I decided to read Agatha Christie in order for Poirot & Marple (I’m not mad about Tommy & Tuppence)

ANYWAY, on holidays you can’t beat a good murder and Christie never fails – the television adaptation (David Suchett) is fairly close to the book but the narrative point of view is that of Hastings and as a TV addict I wouldn’t necessarily be used to this – it also means that you are not actually seeing what’s happening adding yet another layer of mystery to get through.  However, these books are fantastic little page turners and on that note I must leave you as I have  Murder On The Links to start 🙂

Leave a Reply

