Life Starts Here

 

Or possibly on the 1st of October.  No reason for that date ‘cept it’s the first of the month and my head likes it.

ANYWAY!  we’re just back from his post-operative consultation – It would seem that what was removed was kidney cancer but it was at a very early stage and seemed to be a fairly slow-growing – either which way it’s gone.  I had looked up KC and it seems that the kidney doesn’t react well to chemo or radiotherapy so the prescribed course of action is removal and that is what we’ve done already – (I say we…)  So am kinda happy that the surgery wasn’t for nothing.  So in a way not so good news and yet good news!  Oh yes this was a whole new cancer and not a spread from the prostate cancer – so Booo!  for the new but phew that it’s not a spread and they don’t have to look elsewhere to see it it’s anywhere else.  I did point out that  they’ve looked at his innards in such detail and there isn’t anything else showing so that’s more or less a clean bill of health!    It seems the distention from his stomach (which makes him look very lopsided) will subside, but he’ll never have that six-pack I always dreamed off 😉  Ha ha ha!  (honestly I never dreamed and it was never going to happen anyway!)  I’m still slightly concerned about his PSA levels but I have assured that it’s ok and as it’s not rising it’s alright so I’ll just have to take their word for it – push my worries to the back of my head.  He has to get it (psa) checked at christmas and then again in March when he’s to have a CTScan to keep an eye on things.

So Yay!

Right I’m giving him ’til the end of next week to recover from the surgery and to stop being a delicate flower and it’s time to start getting on with things.  We’ve got tickets to see Kevin Bridges – I bought them for his birthday and thought I was going to have to sell them but he seems to think he’ll be able to go so we will!  However I wonder if we can test to see if he can literally split his side laughing?

Another thing I want to do it get out to Powerscourt Gardens – a few years ago we managed to time it to perfection – along the driveway up to the house the leaves had turned and were still on the trees but loads of them had fallen and it was one of the most beautiful visions I’ve ever seen however we didn’t have a camera but we did have a tired companion. When we came back less than a week later the trees were bare and somebody had swept up the fallen leaves – I was devastated!  So every year since we try to get their and hope we manage to time it right – but how do you manage to re-create a coincidence?

One other thing I’m planning on is that we’re BOTH going to start to diet – well I’ve kindda started and by diet I only mean watching what we eat – even if that does mean watching ourselves eat ice-cream it will only be once in a while and not several times a week – that kind of diet!

I think I’m going to go and have a lie down – I don’t think I realised how worried I was.

 

One thought on “Life Starts Here

Leave a Reply

