Unexpected Adventures

Yesterday was Dead Can Dance day – they were playing in Dublin and I dragged himself along – I think he enjoyed himself so that’s a bonus ’cause there’s a concert I was to go to next year but more about that later 😉

We spent the day with my cousin and his other half except for about two hours when they went back to their hotel for a snooze. So what do you do for 2hrs in Dublin, late on a Sunday afternoon and in the company of somebody who flags easily?

Well we decided to hit Hodges Figgis! We or at least I very rarely get there and it really is (one of) my favourite book shop. Himself bought a thing or four and naturally I had to make a purchase or two – 2 more Georgette Heyer for the collection

      

After about 40 mins in the shop we wandered off onto Grafton Street and ventured into Bewleys for a pot of tea for two and to marvel at our purchases. Have you been to Bewleys lately? I haven’t been in AGES and I’d forgotten how beautiful it is – it’s worth going in simply for the surroundings – I did take a photo or two of the Harry Clarke windows but the website displays it a lot better than I ever could. We don’t often gad about wasting time so I have to say it was delightful – I absolutely loved simply spending time with himself with no other calls on our time. After our tea we wandered up Grafton and it would seem that there’s a Disney Shop! Who knew?!? (I spotted it when we came out of HMV) I do like what they’ve done with the window 😀

Unfortunately at this point in time the shops were closing and it was starting to rain so we decided to head back to The Secret Book & Record Shop to pass some time with our good friend Dermot – on our way I did spot some Hallowe’en preparations 😉

Doesn’t she look Fab?

After this I put the camera away ’cause we went to meet my cousin – I’m a loola for having not taking any family photos!! However we were going to a concert and as they asked for no photos I decided no pics (even if phones were glowing like nobodies business!)

I should mention that Dead Can Dance were fantastic and then some!

Leave a Reply

