Posted in Books, life, Reading, To Do

First Finished Read Of The Year

Can I just give myself a woohoo and a pat on the back!

Ever since himself had his cancer diagnosis my ability to concentrate has completely evaporated!  Or at least the allocation of reading concentration has gone and my already slow reading pace has almost ground to a halt.  To aid this I am very much a mood reader – I could pick up a book and spend weeks at it and get nowhere but a month or two later I could pick it back up and devour it in a few days!   Well here’s hoping that 2013 will be a bit more bountiful than 2012!

So to start the year off I read my Christmas Pressie: The Adventures Of Julius Chancer, The Complete Rainbow Orchid by Garen Ewing

To be honest the title really tells you all you need to know about it – so without spoiling it too much it’s about Julius Chancer and his adventure trying to find the Rainbow Orchid.  I’m loath to tell you why he’s on an expedition ’cause if I’m being honest it’s so much more fun letting the story tell you all about it!

What I will tell you is that this is a graphic novel, a compilation of three volumes, in the style of Ligne Claire – think Tintin/the Adventures of Asterix.  I generally find with graphic novels that the covers look totally excellent but the art work inside doesn’t match up but with this it really is a case of what you see if what you get AND let me tell you what you see is totally beautiful!

So last night I sat up and read all 116 pages of this Indiana Jones type adventure (is that a spoiler?) and the only thing I found disappointing was the end by which I mean that it came to an end!  I really, really hope to see more of Garens stuff really soon ’cause the stories are great & they look the business.  It’s a story for youngsters and for grown-ups, so if a young person in your house happens to have gotten their hands on this or any of the individual instalments – please give yourself a few hours to read it – it’s worth it!

You can see some of Garens other work on The Phoenix Comic – I’m not sure if he has something in it right now but he does seem to be a contributor – so grab yourself a copy of avail of their fab electronic offer.

 

Author:

As I type I'm 40 odd yrs. Sometimes very odd :) I'm married and have 2 cats - Oscar & Daisy. I love to cook, craft, read & watch TV This is to be the place that makes me smile.

Leave a Reply

