A Mixed Day

It’s always pleasing to make a decision and act upon it.  I was really pleased to have decided on which blanket and I went out and picked up some wool – I’ve even gotten a line or three done!  Go Me!  however I know I’m slow so I’m rather pleased to have another 6 months to get it done.

Anyway – it is an unwritten law that a call late at night is never a call of glad tidings!  The phone rang at 10pm my friend was on the other end – the opening being I’ve bad news but not the worst news.  Well at least somebody’s not dead (yet?) She’s got breast cancer.  Ya know I’m sick and tired of cancer.  Of people I know getting cancer.  People I know having to go through whatever simply to get rid of rotten cells.

What do you say?  When P. was diagnosed we were very matter of fact about the whole thing – but that’s cause we know each other intimately.  What do you say to somebody over the phone who is telling you they’ve got this but they’re not sure yet of the full extent.  Do you make light of it in the hopes that it’s highly treatable and all will be well with the world again by this time next year?  What if it isn’t and you made light of it?  OR do you go all serious but praying all the time you’re not going to be too negative?

Oh I don’t know!  I got such a fright that I got tongue tied or at least my version of it – translate that into verbal diarrhoea.  Well BLAH!!!!!!  I think I made a right hash of things or maybe I didn’t – Oh I don’t know!

What I do know is that it’s time to pull up my socks and make more effort to keep in contact – just a call to say how’s your day going can make a difference.  When somebody is in the thick of it they’re too busy to just pick up the phone.

Well I’m going to bed before anything else happens – hopefully tomorrow will be better!

Oh and do me a favour – give somebody a hug!

 

Leave a comment