Posted in life, Photography, To Do

Picture Perfect

I have a Nikon D40.  I point and click.  I have no idea what any of the tech terms mean?, what the other buttons so?, what makes a good composition? or what makes a bad composition?  So I’ve decided to find out!

I know you don’t know me so you’d have no idea that the notion of going on a photography course frightens the living daylights out of me but it does (- I should say that it’s courses in general and not the photography one that scares me).  According to himself I may have confidence issues and he might just be right I couldn’t possibly say.  However today, at lunchtime, I went over to the Gallery of Photography and signed up for their Introduction to Digital Photography & Imaging.  The Saturdays suit me better although it does mean I won’t be going to my craft circle this month.

I have to admit that mingled with the almost paralysing nerves is the start of excitement  – what will I learn?  how will it effect my photography in the future?

One of the courses on offer looked really tempting however it was for manual cameras and involves film developing but I don’t have the right kind of camera so that was that written off – this was the course in question: Introduction to B&W Photography. It was the mention of Black & White photography that brought to mind one or two French photographers that did some fantastic work.

Robert Doisneau:

Willy Ronis:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If you’re not familiar with either of these then google is your friend – mind you if you are of a prudish nature then be careful ’cause some of their photos do contain elements of nudity – don’t say you weren’t warned – BUT their stuff is absolutely outstandingly wonderful.

Enjoy!

Author:

As I type I'm 40 odd yrs. Sometimes very odd :) I'm married and have 2 cats - Oscar & Daisy. I love to cook, craft, read & watch TV This is to be the place that makes me smile.

One thought on “Picture Perfect

Leave a Reply

