Posted in Anxiety, Diet, Food, Friends, Health, life

Having Your Cake

Did I mention I’m on a diet?  I think I might have but to recap – Girl in work, it’s her 40th at the end of March, she’s decided she wants to lose 7lbs before then.  I realised there’s no point in me waking up Jan 2015 and going I’ve 3stone to lose in 6mths – ’cause believe me it ain’t going to to happen.  For some unknown reason this made the ‘click’ happen in my head and I’ve been following the pure points weight watchers diet from home.  Pure Points is the one I originally lost all of my weight to, but it’s no longer being done in Weight Watchers these days.  I have opinions about what they are teaching these days but that’s probably a post for another day.

ANYWAY in the last month and a bit I’ve had 2 lots of people bring in sweets from holidays and now there’s cake – 2 days of it!  With the sweets it was grand – I took 2 sweets each time and put them into my drawer and waited ’til the after my weigh in on the thursday – this was ok and not a bother to me.  My difficulty is the cake!  It was somebodys birthday the other day and she brought in cake from home – just a bit to see if we liked it – if so she’d bring in more.  Previously this would have been music to my ears but not any more 😦  It’s very difficult to say “No” to the questions “Do you want to try some of the cake I made?”  I could have cried when I saw it there again yesterday!  ’cause then you get everybody making sure that everybody else got some.

As of this morning (my weekly weigh-in) I’ve lost 10lbs – so do I want cake (yes – if I’m telling the truth) or do I want to lose the weight (more than you can believe!) At the moment while I’m still in ‘the zone’ I can’t afford to relax and go what difference will one slice make?    Yes I’ll have cake for my birthday but I think I’ll wait ’til then to start.  My birthday isn’t ’til June so I could have another 10bs gone by then – imagine it was 11 – that would make it a stone and a half gone – what an achievement! On the other hand if I’m only two or three lbs down by then I’ll also be well chuffed ’cause it’s still way lighter than I was last year and every little bit counts and can only be doing me good!

By the way don’t think for one minute I’m not having any goodies what-so-ever!  Ha! not a chance – on Thursday I have my take away and possibly even a bar of chocolate – totally yum!  This isn’t about depriving myself it’s about being a little bit sensible.

Eventually I will be able to have my cake and eat it  (but not yesterday or today)

 

Author:

As I type I'm 40 odd yrs. Sometimes very odd :) I'm married and have 2 cats - Oscar & Daisy. I love to cook, craft, read & watch TV This is to be the place that makes me smile.

One thought on “Having Your Cake

Leave a Reply

