A Post from the leaba

(Leaba = bed in irish)

Yes I’ve 21:30 and I’m in bed – what a good girl I am!

I’ve got BBC Radio 3 on and the wind is howling outside – not too sure if it’s raining.  If it is, it’s falling away from the window – hohum!  Other than the aforementioned sounds all is quiet – cats & husband are watching telly in the living room so it’s the perfect opportunity to get a bit of reading done.

I’m determined to finish this book by Easter.  It’s at times like this that I wish I wasn’t such a slow reader – ah well what can you do?  The other slightly annoying thing is that when I was depressed I had no problem reading this book but the minute it lifted I found I was so easily distracted that I couldn’t settle to it.  The book also has a lovely languid pace – no hurry – so despite my longing for life to have that same pace I’m flitting all over the place.

However after what could only be described as a disturbed nights sleep last night I’m feeling a tinsy bit sleep – so I’ve taken to the leaba.  For some unknown reason I’ve now got a vision of myself a la Sybil Fawlty, propped up with book/magazine/telephone (Book & Mobile?), fag in hand (I don’t smoke so no cigarette) and a box of chocolates that she happily and almost unconsciously devours.  When I was younger that, to me, was such decadence – scoffing a box of chocs in bed and no concern as to whether anybody else would like one.

Anyway as I was saying I’m supposed to be reading and not telling you all how I’d like to be Sybil Fawlty eating a box of chocs in bed.  So night night!  My book awaits!  BTW it’s “Nella Last’s Peace” – to be recommended.

Leave a Reply

