Reading Material

I was rather pleased with myself today I finished reading Nella Last‘s Peace – I have only one more of her books to read but I think I’ll wait for a while.  The absolute joy of finishing a book is sometimes clouded by the quest for the next book.  This book however was wonderful.  If you ever get the chance please, please read Nella Last’s War her first book it is a such a beautiful book.  Unlike other books I read which are all fiction this one is a diary and all true even if it’s a biased view.  The other difference with this book is plot – there’s no beginning, setting up of characters, no story being driven, no conclusion – like life it just happens.  The reason I recommend War rather than Peace is it’s the first and you are introduced to her friends and family there – although the other two could be picked up as a stand alone.

Today I bought a copy of The Lady.  I have on occasion been tempted simply to see what it’s all about but there’s always been something else to catch my eye.  However, yesterday we were watching a programme about being a lady and they were looking through the magazines archive – some of the stuff looked wonderful!  So I thought why not?  As I was flicking through it I spotted an interview with Esther Walker – so if nothing else I’m looking forward to reading that!  Do click on the link – her blog is wonderful – a wonderfully confident women who sometimes doesn’t see it – I think we’re all like that in some respect…

Anyway!  This evening and tomorrow it’s the magazine and then after that there’s a book I’ve taken from the box in the office.  We shall see how that goes over the Easter Weekend.  However after that I’m at a loss!  A detective?  I’ve my introduction to Val McDermid waiting for me.  Something Parisian – The Flaneur, Maupassant?, Something domestic? – Greenery Street. Maybe something vintage?- Christie, Heyer..

Oh I don’t know!!  Well time to go to bed and sleep on it!

Leave a Reply

