Descriptive

It’s as we grow up that we sometimes realise what it is our parents saw and did their best to support/correct/protect.  Yesterday I had an epiphany – if I’m thinking of going back into third level education I’m going to have to write essays. Blogging is difficult enough for me and I’m not even very good at it – so essays to be assessed and mark – I have a feeling that I’m going to be banjaxed!  Sometimes I think I live my the motto that it’s my opinion and I’m going to keep it!  Did you like the book – Yes, Did you like blah blah blah – the answer will always be yes or no or variations on that theme – I don’t seem to expand on things at all.  I think this is just one of the things that my parents hit upon.  Every Saturday I had to buy the Irish Times to read Maeve Binchy’s column as an example of what was good writing – lessons in how to convey information within a limited word count/space – keeping exams in mind.
Isn’t it odd?  I’ve never read any of her books although I believe I should.

The cause of this epiphany was blogging – I went to write a post about the stuff we’d done yesterday and it didn’t fill up that much space – we went out, it was grand – that encapsulates the day but it’s not good enough. So I do apologise but from now on blog posts are going to be a bit more florid and descriptive – yes I know they’re supposed to be like that anyway but…

So wish me luck in my endeavours to re-educate my writings and my hopes for university (Sept ’14 here we come!)

 

You know – this could have been bit longer too!!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

