Reading

This afternoon I saw an article on The Guardian website about which books that make you feel stupid? this was a title that really hit a cord with me ’cause although I love to read I rarely talk about the books ’cause it seems (to me) that most people get more out of books than I do – so it’s not so much the books that make me feel stupid but the other readers that make me feel stupid.  Now the fact that the article mentions China Miéville, meant that I had to click on the source blog: On the Perils of Feeling Dumb While Reading: Book Riot.  I have to say due to human nature being what it is, there will always be somebody out there to tell you “yes it is you”  essentially if you’re not part of the crowd then you’re a freak!  Well I don’t buy it – I don’t put myself out there to give these petties the opportunity to make me feel bad about myself ’cause to be honest I don’t need help with that thank you very much.

As I said earlier it’s listening to others talk about something that I feel I should know about and it seems I must have gotten hold of a completely different book that makes me feel stupid.  Now, they’re not doing it on purpose but it seems that my confidence might be.  To narrow down the co-incidence of the article ->blog -> China Miéville -> The Book I’m Reading!  The  author of the blog post Swapna Krishna didn’t get Kraken, that’s ok, if it was me I’d put it down and go back to it when I was in form for it.  However, I am reading it and I am loving it.  With this in mind I looked up a blog of a friend of mine – he is a prolific reader so I knew that Kraken would be there.  He wasn’t overly impressed – I think it’s fair to summarise his review as – not great, not bad – there are other books out there doing the same thing only better.  This is where my confidence decides to take a hike – if he’s not impressed, am I wrong for liking it?  Sanity of course kicked in – I’m not him, I’m me and I’m allowed to like and dislike what I want.

I still don’t really talk about the books I read, as I don’t like the competition that brings out in people.  Well I have to go as I’m really dying to find out how this book is going.
Question:  If I did talk about the books more would it help me to review them?

Leave a Reply

