Posted in Books, Growing Up, life, Links, Reading, Time

Cheerful Weather for the Wedding

Finished it!!
119 beautiful pages from Persephone Books. As it says on the back this was a novella and for such a short piece of fiction it took me a while to read it. To be honest it took me a while to settle into it – a dramatis personae at the beginning would have been handy (for me anyway)

This story takes place on the day that Dolly is getting married. The family have already arrived and are waiting for the bride – I’m not sure why I failed to get to grips with who was who but once I did I finished it off in one sitting.

Sadly as this book was published 83 years ago there is little hope of the author expanding on the snipets of conversation – Like what really happened in Albania? And what’s with the socks?

So it was a novella of two readings – the first half a little bit difficult, the second half a joy. I think this will get a second reading (possibly before the end of the year) and I’m rather looking forward to it.

Mentioned in this post
Author:

As I type I'm 40 odd yrs. Sometimes very odd :) I'm married and have 2 cats - Oscar & Daisy. I love to cook, craft, read & watch TV This is to be the place that makes me smile.

Leave a Reply

