Posted in Colorstory, Family, Growing Up, Home, Husband, Photo Challenge, Photography, snapseed, Time

Family

The concept of family is open to so many interpretations.  Do you consider your friends as family rather than blood relatives?  For me I love all of my Aunts, Uncles, 1st cousins, 1st cousins once removed, 2nd cousins, 2nd cousins once removed and all the other combinations.  We have a good laugh when we meet up and these days facebook keeps us abreast of what we’re all up to – gone are the days when myself and my cousin Ian would write when he was studying over in the UK (actually it’s kind of sad that we don’t any more)  Holidays were spent trouping from house to house, sleeping on floors, sharing beds, camping in gardens.  The thing is – Family is no guarantee that you’ll get on so I’m glad that I can count my cousins as friends.  However they are friends with that extra layer – I know that our families have been friends going back generations.  Ok now I’m wittering!

On Friday we were at a family reunion for his family and it was the first one that himself has gone to.  I was touched by a simple gesture from one of his aunts – a warm shake of the hand and the phrase “Welcome to the family”  It’s one of these unnecessary sentences that you know the person means it.  During the family photos I took a photo over my shoulder of his aunts and uncles – because of the way I was sitting I managed to leave an aunt out – I do apologise!  There was one other uncle not there as he has sadly passed away.  However I have to laugh- himself has more aunts and uncles on one side of the family than I do in total!! (8 versus 5)

 

I have to say it was a great night and lovely to meet all the cousins!

Author:

As I type I'm 40 odd yrs. Sometimes very odd :) I'm married and have 2 cats - Oscar & Daisy. I love to cook, craft, read & watch TV This is to be the place that makes me smile.

Leave a Reply

