Posted in Confidence, Photo Challenge, Photography

Lomo Challenge Subject: Hero

I typed this a while ago but …

Victoria Wood.
It’s not my photo. I’ll never get a photo so all I can do it work with somebody else’s.
The buzz phrase at the moment is “See it to be it”, now I never wanted to be a stand up comic, but my reading of her was there’s this lady on the telly and she’s just as good, no she was even better than her contemporaries- men do it, women do it, so we’re equal that means I can do whatever I want!  It just so happens that at the age of 40 I still don’t know what that actually is!  However what I do know is that I was right.
The other thing about Victoria Wood that makes her one of my heroes is that she was bloody brilliant.  Fantastically funny, wonderfully wordy, her songs were about the normal and how absurd it is.  She is one of the few comics that have reduced me to tears!  As an actress she was great – I remember her in “Case Histories” she was not the Victoria Wood we love to have a jolly with, she was transformed into this humdrum security guard, played not for laughs but with great sympathy.  Another role she had (& wrote) was that of Nella Last, another hero of mine.  I went straight out and bought the books.  Yes, they are different but if it wasn’t for one I’d never have had the other.  There was also the documentaries, the musical she wrote – I really could go on!
I’m going to miss her – 3 cheers for repeats and my prized possession of Dinner Ladies on DVD, they are all we have to look forward to.
May she live forever in our hearts, memories and laughter.

FullSizeRender

Author:

As I type I'm 40 odd yrs. Sometimes very odd :) I'm married and have 2 cats - Oscar & Daisy. I love to cook, craft, read & watch TV This is to be the place that makes me smile.

Leave a Reply

